Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

About Us

The Assiniboine West Watershed District (AWWD) became the largest watershed in Manitoba at 19,000km² when the Watershed District Act was enacted in January, 2020. AWWD is made up of 9 sub-districts and 18 participating member municipalities. With the support of over 40 organizations,the watershed district partners with landowners and delivers programs to increase landscape integrity and resiliency. Projects are by equipping producers and landowners with the necessary tools to increase soil health, water quality and water storage capacity; improving the regenerative potential of the landscape.

Subdistrict Members


Back: Ryan Canart - General Manager, Mike Shenderevich - Provincial Appointee, Merv Starzyk - Arrow River

Charles Bertram - Assiniboine River, Todd Brown - Oak River, Barry Lowes - Silver Creek,

Colleen Cuvelier - Regional Manager Oak River, Adam Kerkowich - Regional Manager Inglis,

Dale Timmerman - Provincial Watershed Planner


Front: Rusty Still - Birdtail Creek, Ray Frey - Upper Little Sask River,

Jack Lenderbeck - Lake of the Prairies, Darcy Oliver -  AWWD Chairman,

Dennis Pedersen - Lower Little Sask, Glenda Chescu - Shell River


Ryan Canart-General Manager 

Colleen Cuvelier-Regional Manager-Oak River

Adam Kerkowich-Regional Manager-Inglis

Jeff Howard-Regional Manager- Miniota

Lesli Burke-Cheif Financial Officer

Rute Salemon-GIS Technician

Kayla Moore-Resource Technician

Daniel Boryskiewich  - Resource Technician